Is 2022 The Year I Resurrect the Blue Skies?

It’s been forever since I’ve blogged. So much has changed in my life. I’m in my 60s. My daughter is in her 40s. (How did I manage to have a kid who’s older than me?) Have a grandson who’s now 8 and lives over 1,700 miles away from me. Had a heart attack 7 years ago. Moved to another city in a galaxy far, far away. Changed jobs. Bought a condo on the 14th floor of a high rise. COVID hit. Lost job for 4 perilously boring months. Got similar job back with same company. Adopted an older dog. Work completely from home now.

But even more – I practically live on Facebook. Second place is Twitter. I constantly play Hearthstone on my phone. I go out for breakfast regularly on Saturday mornings. I’ve been in my new city for 3 1/2 years and the condo 2 1/2 years. I’ve probably ridden an elevator more times in the past 2 1/2 years than I did in the previous 59. I still love me some mid-century modern decor and glass/barware but got rid of tons of it when I moved from my house to an apartment in that new city.

And yet even more – I used to drink most of the time. Loved happy hours and martinis and clever craft cocktails. Unfortunately they didn’t love me or specifically, they didn’t love my liver. So I have a cocktail maybe 2 or 3 times a month and my tolerance for liquor has significantly lowered. I stay home most of the time. Besides my Saturday morning breakfasts, my activities include the occasional edible, walking the dog four times a day, and on the weekends, food shopping, target run, and dog parks or city parks when the weather permits.

Oh, yes! It’s an exciting life of dog poop bags, Disney+, Netflix, and playing on my phone when I’m not working at my “work” desk, creating spreadsheets, and zooming/slacking with my coworkers. It’s a never ending battle of staying the course until I (hopefully) can retire in a little over 6 years, just in time to not be able to do most things I used to enjoy because I either won’t be physically able to or it’s unhealthy. My life has turned into 7 daily pills to swallow and a fear of sitting on the floor. Not exactly the American Dream I originally bought into but the one that was foisted upon me when I was too busy living life, and what I mean by “living life” is working most of it away.

It’s not really as bad as it sounds. I love my little condo. It’s perfect for me and I’ve learned that all those cool things I used to buy really didn’t give me any happiness. I have amazing views and a wonderfully large balcony to enjoy them from. My dog is a really cool dog who listens, doesn’t make a mess, and is simply a joy to be around and take care of. No commute to work. Nice job. Great coworkers and a 401k that hopefully won’t be decimated by world events in the next 6 years.

So is the glass half full or half empty? Well, let’s just say it’s neither cause I just keep filling it up. Gotta keep it positive and keep on keeping on. Yes, it’s Me and the Blue Skies and it’s just where I wanna be.

Published by MrBlueSkies

Just a NJ guy living life to the fullest in Denver.

Leave a comment