I’m In Print, Sort Of…

6

March 23, 2010 by MrBlueSkies

Trade Shows, Magazines, and Traveling Circuses

Well, I bet you all thought this blog was dead, right? Wrong! I realize that it has been some time since I posted anything on Me and the Blue Skies but this baby hasn’t exhaled its last breath just yet. And what better thing to bring me back to blogging then to announce that “I’m In Print!” Well, sort of.

Several months ago I wrote this really cool article about the state of the Trade Show Industry. Our company was toying with the idea of putting out a corporate blog and my creative juices were charged up a little. The blog thing hasn’t happened yet but while I was thinking about things I could write, I typed up a nice little story about where I thought trade shows were heading and what they needed to do to turn things around, so to speak. Actually, a post about trade shows wouldn’t exactly be the type of post I would put on the company blog anyway so even if we did do the blog, I doubt that it would have ended up on it.

So what was I going to do with this really cool article about an industry that affects my job? After all, I am a trade show coordinator. So naturally I decided that I should try to get it published and what better magazine then Exhibitor Magazine, THE quintessential trade show industry magazine. After scanning the magazine and their website many times, I couldn’t find anything indicating where to submit articles. Did that stop me? No way. I simply sent my article to the “letters to the editors” section and crossed my fingers…

A couple of weeks later I received an email from someone named Travis who indicated that they normally don’t accept articles from outside sources but that he was going to try to use mine because he liked it so much. (They like me–they really like me!) After a few more months, I received an email that they did not have the space for it on their print magazine but were going to feature it on their web magazine, unless I would rather pry it from their dead cold hands and submit it somewhere else. I said, go for it. Then today came the news that it was now on their website and within the next week they would be featuring it on Twitter and Facebook. Woo Hoo.

Yep, that’s the name of my article, Have Trade Shows Gone the Way of the Circus? Pretty catchy, huh? I am so proud that I could just burst, but considering that I’ve gained over 40 lbs since I quit smoking, it would be pretty messy.  So would you like to read it? I know you do.  Just click HERE. And when you’re done, come back and tell me what you think, good or bad.

6 thoughts on “I’m In Print, Sort Of…

  1. Katinka says:

    Stopping by from SITS and wishing you a great day!!!

  2. Dave says:

    Excellent article, Preston. Good for you for sticking to your guns and being relentless about getting this printed!

  3. grannyann says:

    I really enjoyed your article. you are very good! Sounds like you are an old pro at writing.

  4. Anne says:

    Congrats! That is great. I will have to check it out. Before having children, I used to spend a fair amount of time at trade shows.

  5. Jim Egnor says:

    Nice piece, my friend. Maybe you would like to read “Blue Ocean Strategy” for added value to your work and insight.

  6. I’m the “someone named Travis” from your story. LOL! Thanks for the piece, and for being patient about getting it published!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
