Thanksgiving, Empty Nesting, and Turkey Noodle Soup

Thoughts of Turkey, Turkey Soup, and Briefly Living Alone

Heather's Thanksgiving Turkey Noodle Soup - Yummy!

I know it’s a little late for a Thanksgiving Day post, but the homemade turkey soup my daughter gave me put me in the mood to write about it.  Yes, she’s a good little cook and she made an amazing turkey noddle soup which she brought over to me last night.  I didn’t eat it last night as I already had some leftovers that needed to be eaten.  I saved it for today and I can say it’s probably one of the best she’s ever made.  Unfortunately, I wolfed down about half of it before I took the picture but if  you look closely, you could probably smell how wonderful it tastes.  Well, I bet you could if you have a really good imagination.

I have to say I’m enjoying my limited time alone. Empty nesting is really not that bad. I have total control of the tv. Dave (the dog) never complains when I fart. I can go to the bathroom with the door open. I can eat seafood. (Seafood makes Heather sick so I never kept any in the house.) I can sit around in my underwear. (Well, I sorta did that before.) The house is now smoke-free. And yadda yadda yadda.  It won’t last too long cause Linda is moving in the 1st of February.

Now I’m not complaining. Linda and I have been friends for a long time. We get along well and I’m sure things will be fine. She’s already started to come over and help with getting the house cleaned up.  Linda is sorta a clean freak and I am sorta not. But I am sure that if she comes armed with a chisel and a blow torch, she’ll have this place cleaned up by 2012…

But enough about that. I’d like to share with you the pictures I took at Thanksgiving. Heather and Aaron have been in the new home only a few weeks and they did a bang up job of getting it ready.  Aaron was very thrilled to be able to carve the turkey and he made a very wonderful toast thanking us all for helping them make their dreams come true.  It was sweet; it was wonderful; it’s what family and holidays are all about and I couldn’t think of any other group I’d rather have spent Thanksgiving with. I hope you enjoy the pics.

The table set for a Thanksgiving feast!

Me (I'm so fat!), My buddy Steve, My mom, and Aaron's mom having snacks and coctails before dinner

Me (I'm so fat!), My buddy Steve, My mom, and Aaron's mom having snacks and cocktails before dinner

Cocktail hour. Aaron is standing on the left.

The turkey. What a beauty! My daughter sure can cook.

The man of the house and the turkey he just carved.

Sitting around the table.

Sitting around the table.

Nice

Heather's at one end of the table and Aaron's at the other.

How many pictures do you need of people sitting around the table? Jeez. Unfortunately, I didn't think of taking a picture when the food was out. I was too busy eating!

I really did have one of the best Thanksgivings in quite a long time. Everyone got along. The food was great. And we all enjoyed ourselves. Heather and Aaron are doing a Christmas brunch this year too and I look forward to the fun we’re gonna have Christmas morning. I hope all of you had as nice a Thanksgiving as I did and that your Christmas (or whatever holiday you celebrate) will be as wonderful as I expect mine will be. The holiday season is upon us folks. Ho! Ho! Ho!

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, Empty Nesting, and Turkey Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

