My Dog Has Died

23

October 2, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

The last picture take of Sissy. She was sick and dying.

The last picture taken of Sissy. She was sick and dying but still my little sweetheart.

My Heart Is Broken


Dogs 002My female dalmatian, Sissy, has passed away. My daughter called me yesterday at work to tell me that she didn’t think Sissy was doing well and I should come home and take her to the vets. I raced home and got her to walk to the car and even into the vets. She moved very slowly and seemed weak and out of it.  Her temp was 103 and the Vet felt she was anemic. They took some blood and said they would run some tests. The gave her some liquids through a drip and sent me home.  I was told they would call me as soon as they had results.

When I got home she would not get out of the car. I carried her into the house and set her on the sofa.  Within ten minutes, the doctor called.  He told me she was anemic, so anemic that she was in a grave situation. He recommended a blood transfusion but I would have to go to  Philadelphia for that and it would cost a couple thousand dollars, which I could not afford. He said he understood and had some medicine that I could pick up that would help her.  I hung up and told Heather I was going back to the vets…

Heather insisted there was something wrong with Sissy. Her eyes were rolling up and she was not responding to her name. I called her and she did not respond.  I went over to her and she looked like she was dying. I told Heather I was taking her back to the vets.  As I picked her up off the sofa, he legs went stiff, she let out a little gasp, and went limp.  “I think she just died,” I said.  Heather shrieked, “No!”

She opened the front door and followed me to the car, crying and telling me she had money for the transfusion. She opened the passenger door and I laid Sissy onto the seat with her head resting on the armrest. I’m crying myself as I get into the car and tell Heather that I think it’s too late and that she is already dead. As I drive to the vets, she is staring at me. I’m crying and I rub her head telling her that I am so sorry.  Sorry that I couldn’t help her and make her better–sorry that she was suffering–sorry that I couldn’t have kept her alive–and sorry because I was going to miss her so much more than I ever imagined I could miss something or someone.

I carried her into the vets and announced that I thought she was dead. They took me into the book room and checked her. Yes, she was dead. I started to cry again and I texted Heather and a few friends. Heather texted back that she was coming up to the vets with Aaron. They covered her with a Sponge Bob Square Pants blanket and let me have a few minutes with her. Her eyes were open and her tongue was slightly sticking out of her mouth. I tried to shut her eyes but they would not shut. I pulled her up towards me and buried my face into her neck, crying. She was my baby girl and she was gone forever.

I had always thought Dave would go first but life has a way of throwing us curveballs when we least expect it.  Sissy was the runt. We picked her because her marking made her nose look like Mickey Mouse.  We were going to sell her but we got no offers and kept her instead. That little dog has been part of my life since she was 6 weeks old.  She was a feisty barker, unusual for dalmatians. She loved to play and you could throw a toy and she would bring it back over and over again. She loved tug of wars and those type of toys were her favorites.

She loved to sit on the sofa and watch the world go by, and bark at just about everything that did go by.  At first appearances, she appeared mean. But she was a lover at heart. Always ready to sit on your lap, she would hug and kiss you as long as you wanted to do it.  She would moan and grunt and thoroughly enjoy the contact with you. At times she would get up on her hind legs and try to hug you. She slept on the pillow next to my head and would not go to sleep until at least some part of her body was laying against me.

But now she is gone. It was strange sleeping without her last night and coming home from work but not seeing her face in the window. And I know poor Dave is sad as well. Heather and Aaron went out to the store last night and brought him home a pig’s ear. He wanted nothing to do with it. I tried to give it to him this morning and he turned his nose up to it. He walked slower today and did not pull me like he used to. In fact, he’s laying right next to me in about the same spot that Sissy would have been if she was still here. He’s 13 and starting to lose the use of one of his back legs. I worry about his health.

I am done with dogs. I have had many but never felt the loss like I feel with this one. I cannot go through this again. My heart aches for her and it aches for me because she was such a great comfort to me. She gave me so much and I hope I was able to give her at least a little bit of what she gave me. She was a bitch. She was a princess. She was a lover and a sweetheart. She was my dog and she died in my arms. I hope someday when it is my time to go, somehow she will be with me to help me find my way. I love you, Sissy.

23 thoughts on “My Dog Has Died

  1. Dave says:

    I don’t even want to know how we’re going to handle it when our fuzzy kids pass on. My mom stopped having pets after her last dog died–too much for her to handle.

    All of us, including Ozziekat, Cindy (cat), Arliss (aka Dog E. Fresh) and Goldie the Fish, are thinking of you.

    And I got a chuckle of of you calling her a “bitch” 🙂 Hang in there, my friend.

  2. Oh, Preston, I’m so sorry. My heart goes out to you. There is nothing that can be said to take away the pain and anguish; this is the hard — almost impossible to bear — part of loving a pet.

    I only hope you know how much Sissy did love you and appreciated everything you did for her. And she will indeed be with you, always.

    My sincere condolences.

  3. Jeff Wagner says:

    Preston…you lost a good friend but she will always be in your heart. Dogs give us much more than we can ever give back to them. Take care my friend.

  4. Marti says:

    Preston…again, my heart just aches for you. She knew you loved her, and she will always be in your mind and heart. And never say you are done…the heart that bleeds and feels is the heart that is alive and loving.Hang in there and keep writing, it is good for the soul.

  5. Kathy says:

    Preston, I’m so sorry to hear this. What can I say. I know how hard this was for you. We love our pets like people and you have suffered a terrible loss. I’m thinking of you. I’m sorry.

  6. Oh wow. I’m so sorry. I lost a dog a few years ago and it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever been through. We put thousands of dollars into tests to figure out what was wrong with him, only to learn his liver and kidneys were shutting down. There’s solace in knowing they’re no longer in pain, but it’s still a really hard thing to go through. It’s only now that I’m able to love another pet again and she’s 1.5 years old. Someday I’ll have to go through it again, I know, but the love and happiness they bring us while we’re here is well worth it.

  7. Jeannie says:

    Hey Preston

    I’m so sorry for your loss hun!!! Our pets really are part of the family and I understand your sorrow. Big hugs!

  8. Betty says:

    Preston, I am grieving for you! I know how much it hurts. My beloved Soxebaby (a Boxer) was 15 when he passed with Cancer….it is SO hard!! She knew how much she was loved, I’m sure of that! I’m glad were with her when it happened. I feel that makes it easier on them. Thinking of you & Heather. My heart aches for you.

  9. Rebecca says:

    My heart is breaking for you. Sissy knows how much you loved her and she died in her favorite place on earth – in your arms. Life will never be the same again and for a very long time the hurt of her being gone is going to weigh more than the happy memories. We know deep down when we love an animal and bring them into our families that they will most likely leave this world before we do – but it isn’t until it happens that we realize just what that means and how badly it will hurt.

    I know Sissy will be waiting at the rainbow bridge for you and you will move on together.

    Thinking of you and Heather (and Dave too) – sending many many good thoughts your way.

  10. Kimberly says:

    I’m so sorry…I know how hurt you are. I’ve been through it too. We’re thinking of you in this really hard time.

  11. grannyann says:

    My thoughts are with you and Sissy. God Bless

  12. Erin says:

    Oh no. But it sounds like she went in a good way- with those who loved her.
    You are in our thoughts.

  13. MrBlueSkies says:

    Thank you, everyone, for your kind comments. I appreciate your thoughts and well wishes. She was a sweetie and I am sure I will miss her for a very long time.

  14. I am stopping over from SITS this morning and I am SO sorry for your loss. Your dog looks like she was very beautiful and I could tell she was loved.

  15. MrsM says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dog!

    I wish I could have notified you by email, so I didn’t comment this on this post, but I couldn’t find your email anywhere! You won my signed copy of ‘I’m A Newlywed…What Do I Do Now?’ Send me your email address and I’ll get you in touch with the author.

    Sorry again to intrude.

  16. perpstu says:

    I’m so sorry. I understand your pain all too well. Thoughts and prayers for you, Heather, Sissy and Dave. *hugs*

  17. Motherhood says:

    I am so, so sorry. I wish I could send you a hug to comfort you in your grief.

  18. I am so very sorry about Sissy. Our dogs become such good friends and companions and are such a comfort to us. My dog Lola makes me laugh, cuddles up to me when I am sad, and greets me at the door like I am the most important person on earth. They need us, but we need them as well. Give yourself and Dave a big hug from Lola and Me.

  19. Julie says:

    I just read about your dog today. I really am so sorry.

  20. Laura Bongiovanni says:

    Preston,
    I just read this and I’m in tears! I am soooo sorry for your loss! I know how painful it is to lose a beloved pet. I’ve gone through many heartaches myself over losing pets through the years. I can’t imagine how hard it’s going to be when it’s time to say goodbye to my 8 year old Golden Retriever, Amadeus when his time comes. Dogs can be such an important part of the family and they give you such unconditional love! At least she died in your arms and she knows how much you love her. My prayers are with you! You’ll see her again over The Rainbow Bridge!

  21. […] 2009 – My dog Sissy died and a little part of me died with her. I’ve had that dog since she was 6 weeks old. I […]

  22. SHIRLEY says:

    MY DOG DIED IN MY ARMS 2 WKS. AGO SHE WAS A MALTESE RESCUE AT 3 YRS. I HAD HER FOR 10.. SHE TURNED BLIND AND DEAF 1 YRS. AGO. SHE WEIGHED 4 OR 5 LBS ..I WAS WONDERING WHY WAS YOUR DOG ANEMIC..??WHAT DID U NOT FEED HER?? I READ ON OTHER SITE A GIRLS DOG DIED AND SHE SAID SHE FED HER GRAPES. THEY ARE POISON TO A DOG.. I AM STILL NOT OVER TINAS DEATH.. I WILL NOT GET ANOTHER DOG. I HAVE HAD 15 DOGS/CATS IN MY LIFE AND I AM 70 YRS. OLD SHIRLEY.. REPLY PLEASE ..PS I have had a brown dalmation and a blk and white one.. wonderful dogs.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
