Painted Cottage Cafe – Best Brunch in South Jersey

9

August 30, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

The Best Brunch in the Tri-State Area is Located in Collingswood, NJ

Leisurely brunching at the Painted Cottage Cafe. Picture courtesy of Painted Cottage.

Leisurely brunching at the Painted Cottage Cafe. Picture courtesy of Painted Cottage.

The Painted Cottage Cafe, in Collingswood, NJ, has the best brunch in the area, hands down.  I’ve blogged about it before (read about it here) and it’s still just as good.

My mother’s birthday is today. She’s 72.  It’s been 3 1/2 weeks since my stepfather, Al, had passed away.  This was her first big outing and we wanted it to be special. We’ve bragged about the Painted Cottage before to her and she was ready to go brunching for her birthday.  We picked up two bottles of Spumante so we could enjoy Mimosas with our brunch.

(From L-R) Aaron, Heather, My Mom, and Cheri wrapping up brunch

(From L-R) Aaron, Heather, My Mom, and Cheri wrapping up brunch

We got there just about 11 am and the place was about 2/3rds full.  Servers were strolling around the floors and a nice soft buzz of conversation filled the air.  A few tables were open outside on the porch.  Since it was a beautiful day, we asked to sit outside…

I really love this place.  The atmosphere is kind of a shabby chic meets french cottage all in a cafe setting.  The mismatched china at the buffet table works well with the mismatched cloth table covers that adorn the tables.  Even sugar packets are brought out in mismatched tea cups.

Aaron, Heather, My Mom, and Me. (Ugh! I am so big!) Linda was hiding from the camera.

Aaron, Heather, My Mom, and Me. (Ugh! I am so big!) Linda was hiding from the camera.

Along with Heather, Aaron, and my Mother, we were joined by my sister, Cheri and my friend, Linda.  We walked in with balloons, gifts, and champagne so it was obvious that we had a celebration going on.  They immediately offered to take the champagne and bring it out in buckets of ice.  Along with the buckets, they also brought out a carafe of orange juice and champagne glasses.  We ordered some coffee, poured the mimosas, and toasted my mother.

The buffet  was outstanding, as always.  I don’t know how they manage to do it, but the eggs benedict on the buffet were delicious-perfectly cooked eggs on top of a piece of Canadian bacon, soft English muffin, and a velvety hollandaise sauce.  Since you can have an omelet made with just about anything on it, Heather, Aaron, and my Mom went for different omelets including spinach, mushrooms, jalapeno peppers, and cheddar cheese.  My favorite is the beautifully light and luscious buttermilk biscuits topped with sausage and gravy.  And the prime rib topped it all off. We ate and ate and ate and ate.

The staff was on top of everything including remembering to bring out decaf coffee for me.  When we had finished, a group of servers came to the table with a plate of cannolis and a candle topped piece of apple cake in the center, singing happy birthday.  My mother was ecstatic. We were overjoyed.

I really don’t know how they do it.  At $14.95 per person, including coffee and orange juice, it’s the best bargain for brunch I’ve ever encountered.  Since we come here frequently, I know the food is consistently fresh and tasty.  If you are looking for a fantastic brunch at an amazing price, look no further than the Painted Cottage Cafe in Collingswood, NJ.  One visit and you’ll be hooked.

The Painted Cottage Cafe us located at 712 Haddon Avenue, Collingswood in what once was the old Woolworth’s building. (The engraved sign in the front remains indicating that the Woolworth’s originally opened in 1963.) For more information, visit their website at www.paintedcottage.biz or call them at 856-854-8060.

9 thoughts on “Painted Cottage Cafe – Best Brunch in South Jersey

  1. This sounds like the kind of place I would LOVE. My mom’s favorite thing to do on her birthday (or Mother’s Day or ANY holiday) is go to a nice buffet; unfortunately, everyone else in our family hates buffets. Maybe I’ll take her to one for no other reason than she is my mom.

  2. grannyann says:

    Looks like a neat place for a mini party and looks like you all had a good time.

  3. Great to know you guys had a good time 🙂 sounds like really neat place to go for a Brunch.

  4. catt says:

    So glad your Mom had a nice birthday at this difficult time for her.. She looks great for her age. You would never guess she is 72. I’d keep her age a secret. lol

  5. Jaina says:

    I wish I lived out there, this place sounds fabulous! Happy birthday to your mother. She has such a wonderful family 🙂

  6. Melissa B. says:

    What a wonderful time, huh? I’m not real familiar with South Jersey…is this near Cape May? Someday I’m gonna take the ferry over from Delaware. I hear it’s lovely!

  7. […] dine out in South Jersey. Many of these wonderful restaurants offer brunch specials and I’ve blogged about some of them.  When Linda suggested we try Casona, the Cuban restaurant in Collingswood, I was very excited to […]

  8. Zorayda says:

    Is the brunch buffet-style or do you order from a menu?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
