Tragedy and All That Crap

10

August 20, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

theatre mask

So I haven’t been sleeping well lately. I’ve been having weird dreams involving vampires and Nazis and I even dreamed about having sex with an ex coworker whom I haven’t worked with in over 15 years. As a result, I’ve been very tired lately. But I don’t contribute all the tiredness to my recent sleep deprivation.

I also think my new blood pressure medicine is making me tired or perhaps, the combination of taking two different blood pressure medicines may be the culprit. Or it may be the stress.

Yes, there’s lots of stress-the stress of the death of my stepfather, the stress of worrying about my mother being lonely, the stress of trying to learn my lines for my upcoming play (and being very far behind in that endeavor), and of course, the stress of worrying about my job as my company has cut down considerably on trade shows and traveling.

lardIn addition to all that stress, I worry about my weight. I’ve hit the 200 mark and I am not happy about it. I realize that I weigh 32 lbs. less that what I was at my heaviest but it is also 25 lbs. more than where I want to be and have been. I got rid of most of my fat clothes so now I have tons of clothes in my closet and drawers that do not fit me. At all…

And yet, besides feeling tired I am also feeling apathetic. I believe the two often walk hand-in-hand producing a viscous cycle where one feeds the other without destroying either. This apathy has an ugly affect on my life. I eat more when I don’t want to. I sit at my desk and try to “create” work and instead surf the net and get yelled at. I force myself to practice my lines yet I find it hard to focus and concentrate for even short periods of time.

And let’s not talk about what my bedroom looks like. I’ve got dust bunnies under my bed the size of tumbleweeds and I could stuff a mattress with all the dog hair on the floor, if I had the energy to sweep it up. The clothes that do fit me sit on top of my dresser because I’ve been too lazy to get rid of some of the clothes in my drawers that will never ever fit me again unless I was to go through another super depression where I stopped eating for months.

tiredNow you may be wondering what all of this has to do with tragedy? Well, I’ve been wallowing face down in the self-pity pool so much that I was beginning to believe I was taking up permanent residency there. As I glumly dragged myself from the car towards the employee entrance this morning, I noticed my co-worker Paul walking towards me. I slowed down because my lazy butt had misplaced my employee card that allows me entry into the building and I figured I would just come in with Paul.

Paul stopped for a moment to go through his briefcase. As I watched him, I became aware that he had lost a little weight. Not a lot but enough that he was looking leaner. The slight weight loss looked good on him. Always the caring friend and coworker, I was immediately envious. But as I watched him searching through his bag, I remembered that Paul had his own recent personal tragedy, one that certainly could be attributed to his weight loss.

Paul’s 19 year old daughter was killed in a car accident over the 4th of July weekend. She was a lovely girl and not just physically. A talented singer with a beautiful voice, she had just finished her first year at Rowan College. Extremely likable and well-liked, she was the kind of girl everyone wanted to be friends with.

I remember when she was younger and first exhibited an interest in singing and acting. Paul had asked me to recommend some local theatres for her to try out at. I remember how proud he was of her. I also remember the devastating news that a simple, careless gesture and an overcompensating reaction caused her to swerve her car off the road and into a bank of trees. I remember the funeral and the lines and lines of people, many waiting over 2 ½ hours before passing by the casket. I kept thinking how I would have felt if it was my daughter. It is unthinkable that a child should die before a parent.

Yours truly and Paul during happier, albeit heavier, times.

Yours truly and Paul during happier, albeit heavier, times.

Suddenly, some of my own tragedies seemed slightly not so tragic. While I was thinking all this, Paul looked up and walked towards me. “I’m not doing well, ” he said in a trembling voice, his eyes all puffy and red. A wave of sadness and affection swept over me for this man who had suffered so much so quickly. “Some days are tougher than others, eh buddy,” I weakly said. I put my arm around him as we walked together through the doors.

It’s all about perspective, people.

10 thoughts on “Tragedy and All That Crap

  1. […] This post was Twitted by Blueskiesman […]

  2. Rebecca says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your friend Paul’s loss, it’s so sad.

    Perspective – it really can do so much for the soul, can’t it?

    I recently wrote about courage and that in my life it’s meant a little whisper saying “I will get up and try again tomorrow.” And I think that while, certainly, there is usually someone who is going through something harder than what we face, it doesn’t minimize what we are going through. So, yes, thank goodness for perspective and for being given glimpses about how ‘it’s not so bad’ – but don’t ever minimize what it is you experience.

    Hoping for brighter days for you!

  3. Debbie says:

    Try not to judge yourself. You are going through a tough time. Try doing it 15 minutes at a time. A day at a time is too ambitious! Love and prayers. Debbie

  4. grannyann says:

    You know I think it is something in the air. Several of my blogger friends are a little on the “I’ve got the drizzles”. It might be the time of year, the weather, politics or who knows what……Hang in there and things are bound to get better.

  5. Melissa B. says:

    Putting your situation in perspective is a life-affirming action. And remember…there’s always sunshine at the end of a tunnel, correctamundo?

  6. wellthenhowaboutthisone says:

    I’m so sorry to read about your apathy and fatigue — and your friend’s loss. I hope you remember to reach out to people the way Paul reached out to you. It’s no way to live your life. You deserve better than that.

    JD at I Do Things

  7. Linh says:

    Hi Preston. Thinking of you.

  8. Marti says:

    Yup, I hear you. Been thinking a lot about my friend who died suddenly this past 4th of July weekend–ironic, huh. Also my big sis who had a bit of a “step back” when she had to be hospitalized the past 2 days for low electrolytes as a result of her radiation and chemo.I know how easy it is to embrace a mood, and I have been feeling sorry for myself(as well as not learning MY lines, LOL)and its the worst. We gotta buck up, put up, and hang tight.Here’s to laughs, love and better days ahead! 🙂

  9. catherine says:

    Hey Preston ease up on yourself..someone else is fighting a bigger battle.. You been going through some tough times.. Death is never easy to deal with.. Being there for your Mom comes first.. She has a son to be PROUD of.. Blessings

  10. Julie says:

    I had to laugh about the clothes you can wear sitting on top of your dresser. (mine sit on top of my exercise bike, oddly enough)
    It’s easy to get in a slump, I have a pity party every other day. But then I look around and see people like your friend Paul and realize I’ve got much to be thankful for. Here’s hoping you’re out of the doldrums soon. And praying for Paul as well.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
