Top Ten Reasons to Clean Your Grill

7

July 31, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

or How to Grill Your Food Instead of Incinerating It

 

How do you like your steaks? Black and shrivelled?

How do you like your steaks? Black and shrivelled?

Summertime surely is the time for grilling.  Stroll down the street of any hometown neighborhood during dinner time and the charcoal smells of steaks and burgers sizzling away on some not-so-distant grill will be wafting through the air. Mmmmmmm.

grillGrilling embodies everything that is so good about summer:  Long days, holiday celebrations, picnics, and eating outside on the patio. What could be more satisfying that chowing down on your favorite grilled food, homemade potato salad, and corn on the cob while lounging outdoors in the warmth of the late evening?

Of course, the food on the grill is only as good as the guy who’s cooking it AND the cleanliness of the grill.  While I am a firm believer that a little bit of left over charcoal goodness left on your grill’s grates adds a bit of extra flavor to your food, an over abundance of it is just, well, nasty. So without further ado, here’s my somewhat-humorous, sorta realistic…

Top 10 Reasons to Clean Your Grill

  1. Your burgers taste like Salmon and the last time you grilled any fish was 2007.
  2. You suddenly realize that your solid flat grill top is actually a wire grate thickly  coated in crud.
  3. You can put “grill marks” on your food without even turning on the grill.
  4. You light your grill and it’s so bright that satellites pick it up.
  5. All the hair on your arms has been burned off from the constant flare ups.
  6. When you light your grill, your neighbor comes running over in a panic with a hose.
  7. Your guests at the family picnic order pizza and Chinese food and act like they have no idea where it came from.
  8. The air fills with the smell of grilled steak and you haven’t even put the food on the grill.
  9. You can no longer see the burners in the bottom of the grill.
  10. Your grill smokes more than your mother-in-law.

Smoking-Charcoal-Grill-Backyard-PhotoWell there you have it, my top Ten Reasons for Cleaning your Grill.  If one or more of these scenarios apply to your lazy butt, please don’t invite me over for a bar-b-que. I’ll be too busy trying to figure out what to do with my own dirty grill. KFC, anyone? And please don’t forget to rate this post.

Special Note:  Check out my new “Post Sampler” page. The link is located at the top of my blog along with my other page links.
7 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons to Clean Your Grill

  1. Kim Z says:

    NICE!!! Watch this will happen to you over the weekend- HA

  2. grannyann says:

    How did you know what my son-in-law was like at the grill. Have you been watching him? He and I don’t see eye to eye on hardly anything and I sometimes think the probably spits on my steak when he is grilling. He did drop my steak on the gravel one time and I had stones in my teeth for a week. I am convinced he did that on purpose. I know I should only eat there when my daughter cooks inside.

  3. Dave says:

    But…that’s where all the flavor is. It’s kinda like Marlboro Country.

  4. Dave says:

    But…that’s where all the flavor is. It’s kinda like Marlboro Country.
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

  5. Michelle says:

    Sounds like our grill, a starving person could probably survive another week picking the charred protein off of it! Thanks for stopping by Home Decorating News!

  6. Julie says:

    Umm, I may have some of those things going on. *hanging head in shame*

  7. Jaina says:

    Haha, that was awesome!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
