Agatha Christie’s Ten Little Indians

And Then There Were None…

Me as Mortimer in Arsenic & Old Lace at the Woodbury Sketch Club. (I'm the one tied up and gagged.)

Me as Mortimer in Arsenic & Old Lace at the Woodbury Sketch Club. (I'm the one who's tied up and gagged.)

I’m happy to announce that I will be in the Village Playbox’s production of Agatha Christie’s Ten Little Indians. I will be tackling the role of Mr. Blore.  This is my fifth production at the Playbox and my second time in an Agatha Christie play; I was Giles in the Playbox’s 2007 production of The Mousetrap. I am thrilled to be back at the Playbox and even happier that I have previously worked with most of the cast members in various past shows.

And_Then_There_Were_None_US_First_Edition_Cover_1940Ten Little Indians was written by Christie in the late ’30’s.  It was originally a book before being adapted for the stage and then eventually made into several movies for the big screen and television.  It’s original name was racist, The Ten Little “N'”s. (Yes, THAT “N” word.) It was changed to Ten Little Indians later on.  It has also been called Ten Little Soldiers and And Then There Were None

In addition to the various name changes, the endings and locations have been changed several times as well.  The book’s ending was difficult to translate to stage and was changed to make it easier to put on.  The endings and locations were changed in the movies as well, usually to make the story current or to be more faithful to the book’s ending.

236757.1020.A

As much as I enjoy comedy, I also enjoy performing in who-dunnits.  This is a wonderful tale about 10 people who are summoned to a mansion on a remote island.  Each has no idea why they are there and each have a shady and/or suspicious past which is brought to light by their host, who is missing in action.  As the plot thickens and guests start to die, the remaining people realize they are alone on the island and begin to suspect each other.

The title name comes from a nursery rhyme about Ten Little Indians.  On the mantle in the mansion, ten porcelain Indian toys appear.  As each guest dies, one of the toys mysteriously either breaks or disappears, adding to the remaining guests fears.  Tensions run high as both guests and audience members alike to try figure out which of the guests is murdering the others.

I am happy to announce the Mr. Blore lasts well into the third act which means I have plenty of lines to memorize.  The show opens the first weekend of September so we are on a very tight schedule.  I will be spending a lot of time memorizing my lines but I promise not to ignore my blog.  And if you live in my area, make plans to come see me in the show.  It will be held at Haddonfield High School in their brand new Auditorium.  Check out The Village Playbox website for more info.

Ten little Indian boys went out to dine;
One choked his little self and then there were nine.
Nine little Indian boys sat up very late;
One overslept himself and then there were eight.
Eight little Indian boys traveling in Devon;
One said he’d stay there and then there were seven.
Seven little Indian boys chopping up sticks;
One chopped himself in half and then there were six.
Six little Indian boys playing with a hive;
A bumblebee stung one and then there were five.
Five little Indian boys going in for law;
One got in Chancery and then there were four.
Four little Indian boys going out to sea;
A red herring swallowed one and then there were three.
Three little Indian boys walking in the zoo;
A big bear hugged one and then there were two.
Two Little Indian boys sitting in the sun;
One got frizzled up and then there was one.
One little Indian boy left all alone;
He went out and hanged himself and then there were none.

8 thoughts on “Agatha Christie’s Ten Little Indians

  1. Debby says:

    Wow! Way to go! I’ve read the book and loved it but now will have to read it again. I’d love to see the play.

  2. Mortimer, I mean Preston: Congrats on your recent turn on the stage! BTW, I haven’t forgotten you. I posted the 5 words you conjured for me. They’re up today with suitable explanations, I hope. Enjoy!

  3. eblackwell says:

    I LOVE Agatha Christie!! I’ve read that book — and just about every other one she wrote, even those under her assumed name Mary Westmacott. Good for you! Break a leg and have a blast!

Leave a Reply

