Cleaning Up the Blog: Your Opinion Matters!

14

July 24, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

cluttered sky

I really do like the current layout of my blog. When I switched over to WordPress, I was concerned that replacing my blingy-looking blog with a cleaner but less-blingy design might cause people to lose interest. But the Blue Skies over at Blogger had become more cluttered than the skies over the Philadelphia Airport and I liked the organized look of the new template I picked out in WordPress.

male maid

My dream maid

Unfortunately, the new template has started to look a little cluttered. In an effort to clean it up a little, I decided to get rid of some of the non-essential graphics and reduced my categories list to a drop down menu. I shuffled some items in my widget area to give it a more balanced look. But I am still not sure it was enough…

cleaning_manI think the problem is that I am an insecure person in general. This is a problem that has reared its ugly head in all aspects of my life, including my blogging world. So to qualm my fears and help make Me and the Blue Skies a fun blog that’s easy-to-read and easy-to-navigate, I’ve decided to get my readers to tell me what they think.  Yes, that means YOU!

This will only work if you leave me a comment telling me your opinions. If you’ve gotten this far, you might as well tell me what you think. You can either answer each question directly or simply leave a general synopsis of your opinion of my blog. (I can take it, good or bad.)

Posts

  1. Did you know that in order to see more than my three current posts, you need to visit the Archives page?
  2. If yes, do you visit my Archives page?
  3. Is it difficult to figure out how to leave a comment on my blog?
  4. Did you know that you can search my blog content via search, top posts, and categories from my right side widget bar?
  5. Do you find these additional search features helpful? Why or Why not?

Widgets

  1. Do you ever scroll down to the bottom of my blog to look at the widgets and links?
  2. Do you ever read the RSS links for the ACLU, Huffington Post and others?  If not, do you think I should remove them?
  3. Have you ever visited my Guest Post Series? If not, do you even know how to?
  4. Do you care to see my face book, blog catalog, and twitter information?
  5. Is my blog roll too big?
  6. Do you ever read the quote of the day or is it just wasting space?

Overall Look

  1. Do you like my blog layout – 3 Posts in the top half with the 3 rows of widgets in the bottom half or would you prefer THIS? <– click on the word “this” to temporarily see this blog in a different theme.
  2. If you like the current layout, do you like the Sky background or does it make it difficult to read the blog?

Well, there you have it. I’ve bared my bloggy soul for all to see and respond.  And respond I want you to. (What am I, Yoda?)  Anyway, don’t hold back.  This is one time where honesty really is the best policy.  In the immortal words of Rita Skeeter (from Harry Potter), “Me, Myself, and I want to know.”

14 thoughts on “Cleaning Up the Blog: Your Opinion Matters!

  1. Hey my darling BITS, I’ll admit since you switched over I haven’t been getting your feed. I missed you but I’m far to lazy to do anything unless it becomes a festering problem. Great when you consider I’m the mother of four! I like the lay out. I did like the bling before, it felt more..fun? I get confused by scrolling down to the bottom. It starts to look like the top half is you the bottom is a big ass ad. Commenting was easy enough. And I have NO CLUE WHY YOU WOULD EVER feel insecure. You write wonderfully, make me laugh and thing and I simply adore you, no matter how your blog looks!

    • MrBlueSkies says:

      You need to get my new feed because my feed changed when I moved from Blogger to WordPress and got my own domain name. All you have to do is click on the RSS link near the top right of my page.

  2. grannyann says:

    Posts:
    1. yes
    2. yes
    3. no
    4. yes
    5. Yes

    widgets
    1. yes
    2. do, don’t know
    3. no
    4. have seen facebook
    5. no – I am not on it!!!!!!
    6. no – some might read it

    Overall look
    1. Different but nice. not cluttered
    2. nice sky, doesn’t bother me

  3. Jaina says:

    I love the three post display, very clever and keeps it interesting. I’ve never looked at the RSS stuff, but mostly cause I’ve just been busy. The only possible change I would suggest is maybe adding a solid color background for the actual post parts when in a specific post. I love the clouds, but it would be a little easier to read if it had a white or other solid background behind the actual content with the clouds peaking out from the sides.

    • MrBlueSkies says:

      I would love to have a solid background in conjunction with the clouds but WordPress.com limits my ability to modify my CSS. It seems I can either have all clouds or none at all.

  4. Jaina says:

    Ah, gotcha. It’s not bad…I just always expect a solid color to load. Haha. 🙂 It’s still totally readable.

  5. grannyann says:

    did you notice I posted my 5 words?

  6. Dave says:

    I was gonna go through and answer everything one-by-one, but here’s all you need to know.

    This is your blog. Do what you want to it and we, your loyal subjects, will adapt. That’s pretty much how I’ve done things for almost 5 years and plan to do until I meet my ultimate demise or quit blogging.

    There is, however, one suggestion. I’m a minimalist in terms of design (furniture, landscape, etc.), therefore I believe that less is more. That said, the background image kind of detracts from the experience but knowing the name of your blog, I understand the reason they are there. Maybe it’s because it reminds me of the Web pages I used to make with WebTV and Geocities back in the day. I dunno. But if it were up to me, I’d do without. Makes for easy readin’.

    And you’re a fantastic writer. Don’t let your insecurities get the best of you–ever!

  7. Yaya says:

    Stopping by from sits because you commented above me! Happy Sits Saturday Sharefest!

  8. Can I share your maid? 🙂 Happy Saturday to you! I am slowly making my way around to all the blogs that visited me when I was featured on SITS to say “Thank you”. It is indeed a fabulous SITStahood.
    Be blessed!

  9. Jill says:

    It looks really good. I had a hard time figuring out how to leave you a comment but finally my messed up brain figured it out! lol

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
