Memes and Other Words to Meditate on

meme

I was recently over at Linh’s blog, Girl in Georgia, reading her latest post regarding a “words” meme.  Apparently, she had been visiting her friend Leigh’s blog and stumbled across a particular word meme post she liked. Isn’t this how these meme things work, anyway? It’s like those old shampoo commercials where you tell two friends and they tell two friends and so on and so on.

And so, the meme works in this way.  The person who writes the post has been provided 5 words that somehow relate to them from a blogger who had previously written a words meme post.  The new blogger must write about (meditate about, whatever that means) how they relate to them. Gosh, this is sounding complicated. This is how Linh put it:

Reply to this post… and I’ll give you 5 words that remind me of you.  Then post to your own blog with your meditations on those words, inviting others to ask you for words.

memes-dangerSo if you’d like me to give you 5 words that you then have to post about on your blog, read through to the end and leave a comment.  Actually, you can read through to the end even if you don’t want me to give you 5 words.  (I usually don’t participate in memes but I decided to throw caution to the wind.)  Linh gave me these 5 words:

Strong  Honest  Genuine  Thespian  Father

Yikes. There are some pretty deep words here. Well, here we go…

Strong Strength is really a matter of opinion.  You can by physically strongweight_lifting_07 and mentally weak.  You can stand up to adversity but be afraid of spiders.  I think strength is often confused with other things, like ambition, courage, stubbornness,  or even fear.  Am I strong? Yes, I can be. Am I always strong? No, not even close.  But even though I may be weak in many areas, I do believe there’s a certain strength in picking yourself up and moving forward.

abes_honest-words_400Honest This is a toughie. It’s easy to be honest when you’re blabbing about yourself and your feelings on a blog, hidden behind a computer curtain, typing away semi-anonymously alone on a pc.  But honesty in your life can be such a gray area.  Is honesty always the best policy? Is it ok to lie to protect your family, to cover up for someone you love, or to help someone in need?

Is it wrong to answer less-than-honestly when your chubby girlfriend asks you if her dress makes her look fat? (Honest Answer: It’s not the dress. You were fat before you put it on.) Or when your friend with the ugly baby asks, “Isn’t she the prettiest baby you’ve ever seen? (Honest Answer: No. I’ve picked prettier things out of my nose.)Where do you draw the line?

Raw honesty is a powerful and sometimes terrible thing.  Regardless, it’s crucial to be honest with yourself. If you can’t, how can you be honest with others? It’s an ugly lesson I’m learning the hard way.

Genuine Now here’s a word that sometimes gets confused with honesty. In Friendsa sense, it’s a part of honesty.  Genuine means to be sincere and real, honest and straight foward.  It’s what we all should aspire to be and yet it’s what few of us can recognize. To be genuine, one must shed the layers of physical and emotional filters and covers with which we surround ourselves.  One of my favorite quotes says it all:

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” ~ Dr. Suess

goldieThespian Goldie Hawn put it best in the First Wives’ Club when she said, You think that because I’m a movie star I don’t have feelings? Well you’re wrong. I’m an actress. I’ve got all of them,” as she swings her drink dramatically in front of her spilling it along the way.  I love acting in local, community theater. It allows me to temporarily step out from who I am and wear someone else’s shoes. I enjoy it immensely and I hope that I give back a little bit of that pleasure to those who come see me in my shows.

father-and-sonFather My father and I were not very close. I wasn’t a man’s boy, if you know what I mean. I hated sports and sucked at them.  I was a cry baby who was more interested in playing alone and, later on, writing poetry. My dad was a mechanic and I had no interest in cars. I just don’t think he understood a male child like me.  He took off when I was in my late teens without even telling me where he was going. He has periodically showed up throughout my life.  Today, we barely talk.

But oh, how I reveled in being a daddy.  I loved being a father and everything that has come along with it, the good and the bad.  I am not a religious man but the saying, “When God closes a door, He opens a window” surely applies here.  While I basically had no relationship with my father, I have had a wonderful relationship being a father. And there is nothing, absolutely nothing, that I wouldn’t do for my daughter, if it’s in my power to do.

There you have it – my meditations on the five words Linh gave me.  What about you? Do you have the courage to join in on this very simple, yet very complex Meme?  All you need to do is leave a comment below and then I will follow up with a comment containing your 5 words.  Once you get the 5 words, write your own ‘Words to Meditate on’ post.  Come on, go for it. (And don’t forget to link back to me if you participate.)

11 thoughts on “Memes and Other Words to Meditate on

  1. OK I’ll play if I don’t have a deadline to get it done. I enjoyed reading your memes. (I had to look up meme to see what it meant – have seen that word for awhile now and never knew what it was.)

    • Ok lady. Here are your five words: Family, Equality, Photography, Water, Thrift Shopping. Ok, it’s four words and a phrase. Sue me. Now let’s see what you do with this.

  2. Thanks, I got them but I am really busy doing work for my son on some websites. Will get to them as soon as I can. I kind of have to work around stuff I do for him (he pays me) LOL

Leave a Reply

