Donte’ Stallworth Given 30 Days Jail, 10 Years Probation and Suspended Indefinitely by NFL – Was It Enough?

9

June 18, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

Donte Stallworth from better days gone by.

Donte Stallworth from better days gone by.

**Vote for Matt Simberg HERE**

I decided to hop on over to Merryfield’s (the bar my daughter works at) to get a bite to eat and a cold brewsky. While I was sipping on my Blue Moon and waiting for my fried oyster platter, I overheard a customer loudly discussing something that obviously aggravated him. “It’s just not right” he declared sloshing his Coors Lite as he waived his hand through the air. “He’ll probably be back to playing football in 6 months.” “You’re wrong,” replied Joe the bartender with a serious look on his face. “He’s got house arrest. It’ll be a year or two before he’s back.” A gum-chewing waitress waiting for her drinks chimed in, “If it had been me or you, we’d have spent the rest of our lives in jail.”

Stallworth Pedestrian Killed FootballIn case you haven’t been watching the news, they’re talking about Cleveland Browns wide receiver Donte Stallworth. Back in March, Stallworth raced around a stopped vehicle to beat a red light and plowed into 59 yo Mario Reyes, killing him. Reyes was walking to a bus stop on his way to work as a crane operator. At the time of the accident, Stallworth’s blood alcohol level was .126, way above Floida’s limit of .08. I was wondering what actually represents a .126 blood alcohol level? Using a calculator I found on Google, over a 2 hour period a 225 lb man would have to consume eight 1 1/2 oz shots or six 12 oz malt liquors to reach a .116. So it seems Stallworth had been drinking somewhat heavily prior to deciding to beat that red light…

As part of a plea agreement to his DUI manslaughter charge, Stallworth was sentenced to 30 days in jail and 10 years probation. He also loses his license for life, must spend two years of his probation in house arrest, and is required to perform 1,000 hours of community service. On top of that, NFL commissioner Roger Goodell has suspended Stallworth from the NFL indefinitely, whatever that means.

Obviously, the folks over at Merryfield’s think Stallworth got off easy. I’m sure Mario Reyes’ family thinks he got off easy. But did he? I’m sure he didn’t mean to kill the man and now he lost his license permanently, will have a record of manslaughter, will spend time in prison and house arrest, and will probably never play professional football again. But on the other hand, Mario and his family suffered the ultimate punishment. Mario’s dead. He will never do anything ever again.

I think that since Stallworth’s blood alcohol level was so much higher than the legal limit, it moves the situation from a terrible accident to reckless disregard for human life and the punishment should have reflected that. What do you think? Do you think the punishment fit the crime? Or do you think Stallworth got off easy because of his celebrity status and that the average Joe would have been subjucted to a much harsher punishment? Leave me a comment and tell me how you feel.

9 thoughts on “Donte’ Stallworth Given 30 Days Jail, 10 Years Probation and Suspended Indefinitely by NFL – Was It Enough?

  1. Debby says:

    I agree that Mario received the ultimate punishment. I also agree that Stalworth’s punishment was more than likely less than the punishment I would have received. He will forever be the ‘former football great who ran over some guy’, which is a shame. He was a great player while he was an Eagle. I personally think that drunk driving should have a stiffer penalty, especially for those who are multiple offenders. Drunk driving is a series of choices, consciously made, and the vehicle is the weapon of choice. You can’t blame the car, just as you can’t blame the gun, but you CAN blame the person who decided to use that particular weapon. I think that people who choose to drive drunk should be given stiff jail time to keep them off of the road for a significant amount of time.
    On the other hand, forgiveness is also a choice. Resentment and bitterness are their own kind of prison. Therefore I believe that Mario’s family (if they have not already) should try to forgive Stalworth for his part in the death of their family member. His sentence will not give them the peace and closure they will more than likely be seeking.

  2. grannyann says:

    Not enough for killing that man. It’s because of who he is that he gets off light and that is not fair.

  3. Jaina says:

    Honestly, I think that anyone else who was just a regular person would have gotten a much harsher punishment. I think house arrest is interesting…I feel like I would get so much done if I were confined to the house…not that I’m planning to ever do anything that would get me house arrest…just saying. Especially for someone with a lot of money, I don’t see how it’s really all that much of a punishment.

    • MrBlueSkies says:

      I agree. He probably has this big mansion with it’s own movie theater and bowling alley. He should have 2 years house arrest in my house. He’d go crazy in a week!

  4. Marti says:

    House Arrest? Give me a break! It’s like sending a kid to his room when that kid has TV, phone, video games, etc! I think he got off VERY easy. It’s kinda like the O.J.-syndrome—enough celebrity status and $$$$$ and that’s what happens. In my opinion, its the equiv. of a slap on the wrist!

  5. Jeannie says:

    I think the waitress got it right. If it had been “one of us”, we’d be in jail for a longggggg, time! 30 days in county? A cakewalk! Drinking and driving is NOT an accident. It’s stupid, and thoughtless and so preventable!!

    Sorry, but he gets no sympathy from me. He didn’t mean to kill anyone. But he did drink (heavily) and drive. He got off easy.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
