Update: Andrew’s Fighting Cancer and Losing His Insurance

11

May 15, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

Little Andy before the cancer was discovered.

Little Andy before the cancer was discovered. Sorry the picture is so dark.

I recently posted about my friend, Steve’s grandson, Andrew who is currently fighting cancer. Andy is only 8 years old and they have discovered a tumor in his left cheek area that has caused his sinus cavity to become crushed and thrown his teeth out of line. Andy was undergoing treatments at the Children’s Hospital in Philadelphia until they recently moved him to Boston for more intensive treatment.

chrysler_logoYesterday, Andy’s father (Donny) found out he will be losing his job on June 1. He’s been working for a local Chrysler franchise for 12 years. The dealership is losing its franchise and closing its doors for good. Since the dealer is going out of business, Donny and his family do not qualify for COBRA. At a time when things could not seem to get worse, this family is losing its source of income and insurance, while Andy’s medical treatments and perhaps his life hang in the balance…

Last time I asked only for prayers, and even though we still need those, I fear that they may not be enough. This family is facing a situation of horrific proportions. I cannot begin to imagine what it must feel like to have a child stricken with such a deadly disease and then have my source of income and insurance suddenly and so devastatingly stripped away from me.

pray

My friend, Steve, is beside himself. Steve is also unemployed and currently earning a small income from his eBay store. It’s enough to keep his head above water but certainly not enough to offer any real assistance to his stepson, Donny. Somehow, somewhere, something needs to be done to help little Andrew at a time when he so desperately needs it. But what and how?

I think the best way to help Andy is to start a fund for him but I have no idea how to do this. I’ve seen sites dedicated to cancer victims that include links for making donations. If ever anyone needed and deserved this type of assistance, it would be little Andy. If anyone has any ideas about how to set up a fund and a website dedicated to supporting Andy and his treatments, please respond here or email me at mrblueskies@gmail.com. Or if you have other suggestions, I’m opened to those as well.

I know times are tough for all of us and everyone is feeling the “pinch” nowadays. I know my budget is stretched to the max. I also know that my family and I are healthy and yet, I can remember just a year and a half ago experiencing similar feelings when my daughter went through her breast cancer scare. Today she is cancer free. Andy is not. Please, help us figure out the best way to help Andy so that one day he too can be cancer free.

11 thoughts on “Update: Andrew’s Fighting Cancer and Losing His Insurance

  1. meghan says:

    Preston, u can create a paypal account for funds. It’s easy peasy, cottage cheesey to do.

  2. Oh, my gosh. I’m so sorry to hear about Andy and his family. I will definitely pray for him and his dad and keep him in my thoughts. I have an aunt who is very spiritual and very active in her church. I’ll ask her to put Andy’s name on her prayer list. I am not kidding you: she’s got some kind of direct line to heaven, because if she prays for you: you get results.

    Now, about the Web site. Yes, you can easily do a PayPal account but I’m guessing you want a real dedicated site where you can maybe post updates, pictures, etc. I personally don’t know anything about this, but I did a search and found two sites that might be helpful. It looks like you can create a page fairly easily and then it’s just a matter of sending out the word:

    Your Cause
    http://www.yourcause.com

    Just Giving
    http://www.justgiving.com/Process/RaiseMoney/

    Good luck. And I WILL be praying.

    • mrblueskies says:

      Thank you, JD, for your offer of help and suggestions. I have faith that your Aunt will help and I will check out both of the sites you recommended. 🙂

  3. Blond Duck says:

    That’s terrible. Are there any non-profits in your area that might be able to help?

  4. Kathy says:

    Yes, check out the sites that JD suggested. Are any of the family members active in their church? Perhaps a call to them would help. I don’t know how to establish a large fundraiser (like a dinner/dancing kind of event), but if you know of anyone who’s good at event planning and marketing, you could probably generate enough interest and emergency funds as a result.

    This is devastating. If you do set up a site, please post about it so I can donate. Will keep little Andy in my prayers.

  5. grannyann says:

    Have Andy’s dad check with the Shriners Hospitals for Crippled Children (no charge) and see if they take cancer patents or I know St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis TN does children with cancer for no charge. I will keep them in my thoughts and prayers. By the way, thanks for stopping by my blog the other day. Come back again soon.

  6. eblackwell says:

    These poor, poor people! They’ve had too much heartache already. Nobody should have to worry about paying hospital bills!

  7. Jaina says:

    Oh Preston I am so sorry to hear this update. I’ll have my Grama update her various prayer chains. I’m kinda with JD in that I think my Grama and her friends have a direct line to God. I’ve seen a few responses about setting up a site or whatever…let me know if you need any technical help..I work in IT and my bf does too, he’s pretty good at web design and would probably help out.

    • mrblueskies says:

      Thanks for your kind words and offer of help. I haven’t been able to get a hold of my friend, Steve. So once I get to speak to him and he gives me an update as to what is going on and what he thinks we should do, I can’t do much. I will keep you posted. Preston Check out my blog at http://www.meandtheblueskies.com

      “During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act.” – George Orwell

  8. steve jenkins says:

    I would like to than you Preston for posting the information about my grand son Andy. He is still in Boston getting treatments, but should be home around June 2nd. He will still get kemo at Childrens Hospital in Philly, and after this treatment, that will last about 6 months, he will have to go back to Boston again for more radiation. Andy is a good kid, not complaining, and doing as doctors tell him. His father, Don, just got word that his insurance will be carried until July 1st or so. this will help out some. If you would like to contact Don, and his wife Donna, their email is cordrey59@msn.com. It is a very difficult time for Don and Donna, and their two other children. Thank you for your concern and prayers. Steve

    • mrblueskies says:

      Steve, I am glad to help out. Keep us posted and if they need assistance, I’ll be here ready to help out.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
