Golly Gee Willikers, Is Batman Gay?

9

May 7, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

Batman wants to share his experience with Robin.  And who did they model Robin's here do from, Suzanne Pleshette during her Bob Newhart years?

Batman wants to share his experience with Robin. Hmm. And who did they model Robin's hair-do after, Suzanne Pleshette during her Bob Newhart years?

Because I’m a gay man, I’m always looking for subtle gay references in pop culture. In my youth, I craved for gay icons and heroes. You know, some one to look up to and emulate. Unfortunately, that was the 70’s and gay didn’t come into fashion until at least the early 90’s and the introduction of RuPaul. So when I came across an image from a Batman comic that literally screamed “I was inked by a gay man,” I had to search Google to see just how gay batman could be…

Breakfast in the batbed. Is there room for one more?

Breakfast in the batbed. Is there room for one more?

What can I say here? Did he say “cold shower”? And he wants a BIG breakfast? What made him so hungry? Makes you wonder just how much of a wonder the Boy Wonder really is. If I was Dick Grayson, Bruce Wayne would have already had his BIG breakfast.

Yes, what have you DONE to the Boy Wonder?

Yes, what have you DONE to the Boy Wonder?

Batman, you should have thought about that back in the batbed. It’s too late now. And do you notice all of the other superheroes are worried about women, but not Batman. Robin you lucky devil, sort of.

Batman's got a boner?

Batman's got a boner?

Gee, the Joker was so busy giving Batman a boner he never even noticed his own boner. I can relate to that. That’s never happened to me! And poor little Robin doesn’t even flinch. I guess he’s not the jealous type.

And afterwards I'll give you a ride on my batbelt...

And afterwards I'll give you a ride on my batbelt...

Yippee? Are they serious? The only thing he could have said that would have been gayer would have been “fabulous!” or “you go, girl!”

Robin can be such a bitch!

Robin can be such a bitch!

Gee Robin, he’s carrying you to the batmobile. Isn’t that gay enough for you? And what does Gordon have up his sleeve? Hmmm. Manage-a-trois? Kinda hard to do that with your leg in a cast but I bet Robin’s a pretty good sport. When I first read this, I thought it was a fake. But then I remembered that some of these comics are really old and were written way before gay meant GAY.

Well, there’s the evidence and I must say it’s pretty hard to refute. I always thought that the Batman/Robin thing was a little suspect, even when I was a kid. After all, a clean-cut, smooth-chested boyish young man all alone in the world living with the much older, pretending-to-be-in-better-shape-then-he-is, wealthy man who has a cave in his basement? I rest my case.

9 thoughts on “Golly Gee Willikers, Is Batman Gay?

  1. Jeannie says:

    LOL! Thanks so much for the laugh!!! This was very well written and well “researched”. Hugs!!!!!

  2. Lola says:

    You’re too funny. Now could you research Scooby Doo and the Archies?

  3. jan geronimo says:

    Preston, you’re very wicked. You didn’t edit the dialogue here? Seem you took liberties with Joker’s boner here. lol.

    Anyway, that’s so funny. “,)

  4. fashiongrail says:

    AWESOME blog! You’re hilarious:)

  5. howefitz says:

    That’s great! Batman has always been my favorite. But as a straight man, I did find some of Batman and Robin’s relationship to seem a but gay. And to the other commentors here, I’ll back Preston up and let you know that these are indeed original comic panels, no editing required!

    Thanks for the laugh this morning!

  6. Jaina says:

    I think you’ve garnered quite a lot of evidence there 😉 Loved this post. Sorry it took me so long to catch on and join you here on the new site. It looks great!

  7. FlyontheWall says:

    LMAO great! I’ve seen the first two photos but the others are new to me. Glad you posted this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
