WordPress or Blogspot: What Do You Think?

7

April 18, 2009 by MrBlueSkies

wordpress_logo1

I am seriously considering switching my blog from Blogspot to WordPress.  Now the reason I originally used Blogspot was because it is easy to use and has tons of templates that are very easily modified.  Since I am not a code expert, I choose Blogspot for my blog. 

blogspot_logo1

And don’t get me wrong, I’m not necessarily unhappy with Blogspot.  And I do love the blingy look of my blog and my Me and the Blue Skies header. I ADORE my header.  But I hate that Blogspot does not have a “read more” post feature where you show only a little bit of the post and then click the read more button if you want to read more and leave a comment.  I think this makes blogs look much cleaner and certainly easier to navigate.  So I exported my blog to WordPress and came up with a cool template that I really like.

Unfortunately, it does not have a custom header feature so I lose my Blue Skies header.  Of course, if I want to customize my CSS code and add a header, I need to pay WordPress $15/year.  Not really a bad price to pay.  And WordPress does have some templates with customizable headers but I just love the clean, three column look of this template.

Anyway, the whole point of this is to get YOUR opinon.  That’s right!  I want to know what you, the Me and the Blue Skies reader, thinks about both blogs.  Tell me which one you like better.  Tell me why you use Blogger or WordPress.  (My about page is a mess right now but I will fix it up later.) I wanna know. To go to my blog in Blogspot, just click here.  You can leave a comment there or come back here and leave your comment.  I’ll be checking both blogs.  And thanks, in advance, for your advice and opinions.

7 thoughts on “WordPress or Blogspot: What Do You Think?

  1. I like this one better. Totally. But you can jazz it up a little to show your personality. Try self-hosted – – gives you even more flexibility.

  2. JessicaSina says:

    I like your post. Good stuff. Keep them coming :)…

  3. foongpc says:

    Hi there! Long time didn’t visit and I was surprised by this totally new look! Not an Entrecard member any longer? I think I first found your blog via EC. Anyway, my opinion? This one looks better!

    I’ve been wanting to use WordPress, but didn’t know much about how to go about doing it, and besides not much time, so at the moment will stick to Blogger.

    Happy blogging! : )

    • mrblueskies says:

      Glad you liked the new look. Yea, I remember that we came across each other’s blog through Entrecard but unfortunately WordPress does not allow plug-ins like Entrecard. 😦

  4. foongpc says:

    WordPress does not allow EC? Didn’t know that! Maybe you want to try Adgitize to replace EC?

  5. keylogger says:

    Glad you liked the new look

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

What I Write About

My Monthly Archives

LinkedIn

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

ss_featured2

nightowl

Telling Dad
mmh-125x125
buttoncopy
spiritjumper
Local Directory for Oaklyn, New Jersey
wordpress stat
”WordPress
Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Me and the Blue Skies Philadelphia restaurants
