I’m Voting for "That One"

Last night’s Presidential debate did very little to change most people’s opinions of either candidate, with Obama fairing slightly better than McCain. Unfortunately, both candidates did a fair amount of truth-stretching during the debate. And while I feel that McCain’s lies far outstretched anything Obama misstated, I was still disappointed that my candidate was caught up in the fact stretching.

Regardless of the truth stretching, I still like what Obama has to say better than McCain. I like Obama’s strategy towards Iraq and Afghanastan. I too believe health care is a right, not a responsibility. I still don’t like what McCain says. While I find his mortgage buy-out interesting, the $5,000 he’s offering up for health insurance is a solidly bad idea. The only thing McCain changed for me was my opinion of Sarah Palin. Up until now, I thought she had cornered the market for “gleefull smugness,” but after McCain’s “that one” comment, I realized that he shares that market with her.

One of my favorite quotes is by George Orwell and it perfectly fits the situation at hand, “In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act.” What this country needs is a revolutionary act. I wish I was at the debate and in the audience so I could have stood up and screamed, “Can’t either one of you tell the truth!?” The only problem is that I’m afraid Jack Nicholson in a military outfit would appear out of nowhere and holler back at me, “You can’t handle the truth!” Maybe so Jack, but I already know what the truth is. The truth is that one of those two men will be the next President and my money is on “that one.”

3 thoughts on “I’m Voting for "That One"

  1. HealthNutWannaBeDad says:

    My wife and I watched the debate the other night and thought it was boring. We did not learn anything new about either candidate.

    The debate format is outdated and needs to be changed. I would prefer the candidates to interact directly with each other, and ask direct questions.

    Since the next debate is set up to be pretty much the same, it should be a real snoozer as well.

  2. liza says:

    my husband was glued on the tube, we’re not from US but we both like Obama.

    thanks for dropping by and your comment 😉

    cheers

Leave a Reply

